My Secret Is Out

A few days ago, I decided to let my friends and family know through Facebook that I am pregnant.  Of course my immediate family members and in-laws knew, but the general population of our friends and extended family members didn’t have a clue.  My mother was dying to tell her sisters that she would have another grandchild and did such a good job of keeping my secret.  My mother-in-law kept asking if she could tell some of her friends.  I didn’t mind since I had no idea who they were but my husband insisted that she zip her lips until we were ready to spill the beans.

I thought that I was 9 weeks along but when my husband and I went to our first ultrasound appointment, the ultrasound technician informed us that I am 14 weeks pregnant.  Talk about fast forwarding through this pregnancy!  I was expecting to see a little blob on the screen but instead I saw a tiny human.  It was incredible.  The midwife even let me hear the baby’s heartbeat.  It was an amazing feeling to hear my baby’s heartbeat for the first time.  I recorded it on my phone so that I could listen to it later.

I made it a point to confirm that there was only one baby in there, and not two.  My family has quite a few sets of twins and I’m not sure I can handle two babies!  I have identical twin uncles, fraternal twin cousins, and a few of my cousins have twin children!  Most of the twins come from my father’s side of the family but I have twin cousins on my mother’s side as well.

This will be my husband’s and my first child.  Of course he is rooting for a boy.  He even has the full name picked out already.  If it is a girl, I’m not sure what we would name her.  I’m not too worried about any of that right now.  I am excited about the baby, but I’m trying to enjoy each stage of this pregnancy…now that the nausea has passed.  I didn’t have nausea in the morning.  Waves of nausea would flow over me during the late afternoon and evening.  It got worse if I stayed in one place for too long.  Going for a walk really helped but my new super power of a heightened sense of smell made me dry heave a few times.  I also never threw up.  Not once.  I only dry heaved and gagged my way through the first trimester.  Sometimes I wished that the vomit would come so that I would feel some relief, but that never happened.

I’m excited to wear maternity clothes and walk around with my pregnant belly.  At the moment, no one can tell that I’m pregnant, much less that I have put on seven pounds.  To me, it’s obvious, but to anyone else, I look normal.  I bought a few items of maternity clothing since they were on clearance but I feel weird wearing them just yet since I’m barely showing.  I just couldn’t pass up these bargains!

In one month we’ll find out the gender of this baby and I will be swept up in the excitement of knowing whether I will have a girl or a boy.  I’m more interested to see my husbands reaction to the gender.

Leave a comment